To briefly update

 Cover of The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

 I’ve been neglecting my blog as the demands of real life have conspired to get in the way of my lovely book life. 

Young Miss Booey went down with the plague, as she recovered I succumbed and finally Mr Boo became ill and we were offically a house of sickness. Instead of retiring to the country for a relaxing convalesence I recuperated with one of my busiest ever periods at work, and wrote almost an entire website in four weeks. The fruits of my labours are here if you want to see my professional scribblings.

During the last few weeks I’ve been too tired to read physical books and have only audiobooked Heyer novels I’ve already listened to, so I haven’t had to spare any concentration on absorbing a new story. Now, I’m free to dive back in to the To Be Read pile. 

I’ve already audiobooked The Rosie Project and I’ll put my review of that up here in a couple of days. I’m currently listening to The Martian by Andy Weir, which is hard work but in a very good way, and I’m reading The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell. If I’m going to get back on top of the reading pile I think it’s worth starting with a mind-bending beast of a novel that can double as a dining room table in a pinch. As a fan of Cloud Atlas, I had high expectations and so far they’re very much being lived up to.

Picture of  Zoe by Chloe Inkpen

Seriously though, why no feet?

 We’ve also had a couple of trips to the children’s section of the library and have denuded the shelves of pretty much every Zoe and Beans title they have for Booey. She absolutely loves the simple fun text and the gentle drawings which are full of things to find and discuss. The illustrations really are beautiful, but I can’t help being a tad freaked out by the lack of feet. Why do they not have feet?

Leave a Reply

